Visas abolished for Colombian and Peruvian citizens to Schengen Area.

The European Parliament on Thursday, February 27, 2014, approved by 523 votes in favour, 41 votes against and 13 abstentions, the abolishment of the Schengen visas requirements for Colombian and Peruvian citizens stays up to 90 days. The countries implied are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France and Monaco, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Island, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Nederland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

This voting is a formal ratification of the political agreement for the visas abolishment petition of Colombian and Peruvian citizens short-trips, made on Tuesday, February 4, 2014, in Strasbourg by the Parliament, the Council and the European Commission.

After the approval of the visas abolishment, there will be other steps and legislative proceedings that could delay the implementation of the political decision. One of the most important steps is the assessment of the European Commission which is in charge of making an additional evaluation of risks in the fields of illegal immigration, security, tourism and economic impact. The drafting of the bilateral agreements will only occur with its favourable findings.

In any case, the European Union warns that the Schengen visas abolishment does not mean the elimination of the entry and departure requirements, which are as follows: the entry and departure’s ticket as a guarantee of the person’s stay up to 90 days; an evidence of sufficient economic means; a medical insurance and the documents proving an accommodation through a hotel reservation or a letter of invitation.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*